Return to HotRod Heat Stick, DIY Kit (Hot Rod)
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 More Power February 19, 2021
Reviewer: Adam Frey from West Chester, OH United States  
Using this with a 1650 watt element alongside my 5500 watt built in element.  The result cut about 45-50 mins off my brew day due to the shortened ramp times of heating to strike, bringing to boil, and cleaning cycles.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent piece of kit! December 9, 2020
Reviewer: Nate from Morgantown, WV United States  
Converted my 120v 1500w Lowes special over to a 90-degree HotRod, and I'm very pleased with the result! Instructions, especially the YouTube video, are great.

Clean-up should be easier, the supporting spring-clip is perfect, and there will be no more questionable PVC / JB Weld contact with my brew.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 February 7, 2020
Reviewer: Mike Landro from Discovery Bay, CA United States  
Works great. No leaks

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Superb Design October 2, 2018
Reviewer: Tom F from Aurora, IL United States  
Bought to replace a previous DIY heat stick I made using various plumbing fittings.  The Hot Rod design is spectacularly simple, versatile , and genius with the TC connection.  The YouTube wiring video made wiring a quick 15 min job. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Awesome August 23, 2018
Reviewer: Graham Philbrick from Durham, CT United States  
Great product, better than drilling through stainless pots if they don't have ports.  Also the joints are clean and better than the DIY heat sticks you see elsewhere

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 this thing is great and I'm super happy with the u August 6, 2018
Reviewer: Brock Seals from Santa cruz, CA United States  
Benefits
Makes clean up a snap
Easily travels from HLT to boil
one dual post 20 amp circuit for the dryer works well
5500 element has raw power and heats large volumes rapidly . A fifteen gal is aggressive and even with thick wart  the low d element won't burn it
Easy to install with a male 7' wip wired it to a 30 a female
bought  20 feet of cable and male plug from Bobby make sure you have him run the cable he's not kidding I couldn't do it.  I stripped the ground wire jacket back to get all 3 in.
Bobby's cable is better.  For a nice touch I took the ext jacketing from a shrinking garden hoses and it's really nice
buy your element at home Depot for 20$  I'm on my second element
Disadvantages
None really .  you must be a little more careful and aware. is it nose up in your hlt which you didn't fill past 2 gallons. The blow wasn't bad
Thanks again for liberating me from the flames Bobby.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Very straight forward January 12, 2018
Reviewer: Brian Reuwer from Alexandria, VA United States  
I'm not very technical in any way but I found this very easy to put together. My only knock against the kit is the washer for the heat stick is a little small but otherwise great kit.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Work of art September 12, 2017
Reviewer: Steven Hans from Chesapeake, VA United States  
Every detail of this tool is beautiful.  The stainless steel is extremely thick and did not show any rusting during my 60 hour sous vide session.  Some of the lesser quality stainless steels will show signs of rusting.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 DIY Kit made easy.... May 13, 2017
Reviewer: Lance Scharkey from St. Louis, MO United States  
product was outstanding!
Videos accompanied are always professionally done and explain everything needed in great detail.

Truly a subject matter expert.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great Value/Service May 3, 2017
Reviewer: Jon Edenfield from Athens, GA United States  
I will now be a regular customer!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items