Return to HotRod Heat Stick, Ready to Use (hot rod)
Sort By::
Page of 5
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great Product with an Induction Cooktop August 4, 2020
Reviewer: Brandon  
I was having trouble getting a good boil with about 4 gallons of wort with my 1800w induction cooktop so I bought the 1650w heat stick as an addition. Holy cow did it step things up. When the hot rod is combined with my cooktop, I can now get 7 gallons of water to strike temp in 18 minutes and to a full boil in 38-40 minutes (starting from 25C with lid on). I can now get 5 gallons of wort after a mash to an aggressive rolling boil in about 25 minutes compared to about 55 when I was using just my cooktop (and that was barely a boil). Overall a great addition, I would definitely recommend if you're looking to speed up heat times and increase your boil.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Works great May 24, 2020
Reviewer: Charlie from Wellington, OH United States  
Used the 1500 watt to supplement my induction cook top. Good purchase. It reduces my time and I am able to maintain the boil when I add my immersion chiller.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great piece of kit May 14, 2020
Reviewer: PJ from Pennsylvania, USA  
Got the HotRod to make my first foray into electric brewing, and only have access to 120V. I have not yet brewed with it, but have used it to heat water for a couple applications. Very satisfied with the heating times, especially with an insulated kettle.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 HotRod heat stick May 11, 2020
Reviewer: Jake M from SK Canada  
Looks like a solid product after finally getting it. only complaint is the model I got came with a clamp/hook to hold the hot rod on the side of your kettle which sucks. online reviews should a clip with a wingnut that you can tighten. mine is just a bent push on clip which holds it but not quite at tight as you would want. I'll have to do some diy I guess.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Shocked at How We’ll This Works December 26, 2019
Reviewer: Carson Blaylock from Jacksonville, FL United States  
I recently moved to an apartment and was in a bit of a bind when it came to heating options. This cake highly recommended so I tried it out. I primarily brew 3 gallon batches (about 4 gallon boil volume), and this coupled with an electric stovetop took wort from the mash tun to a vigorous boil in seven minutes. I turned the stove completely off and maintained a rolling boil with just the Hot Rod for the the rest of the boil. The stove and hot rod even got 8 gallons of water to a gentle boil. I haven’t tried to brew a 5-gallon batch yet, but I suspect this element and the stove would easily get the job done. Wish I’d gone electric long ago. This thing works like an absolute charm.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 HotRod heat stick October 27, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Montague, NJ United States  
Used this for the first time today on my 120v grainfather. Took 57 ° well water and got to mash temp 152° in 25 minutes! Went from mash to boil in just  over 15 minutes! This is a must have for 120v grainfather users.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Perfect first step to electric brewing October 14, 2019
Reviewer: Michael Irizarry from West Roxbury, MA United States  
Im officially ready to brewing indoors all winter.  This is a great product and really get me excited about buying more electric brewing equipment from BrewHardware.com

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Fits SS Brewtech 5gal Kettle June 20, 2019
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Atlanta, GA United States  
One batch in and I am very happy with this purchase.  I was concerned about it fitting the smallest SS Brewtech kettle, which is less than the stated 11.5" minimum width, but it fits!!  If you have this kettle and are looking to go electric, this is your ticket.  I typically do a full volume 4gal BIAB mash and knockout just over 3gal into the fermentor.  The 1650watt version allowed me a nice steady rolling boil, removed and dropped in my immersion chiller.  Clean up was super easy with a little water and slight scrubbing to get the hot break/hops off of it.  Wish I had purchased this earlier in my time brewing.  Though if I were to go larger than 4gal, I think it may be underpowered.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great quality!! May 20, 2019
Reviewer: Thomas Rogers from Saugus, MA United States  
Set up for maintaining HLT temp.  Worked great and looks great.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Hot Rod for the grainfather (1650w) January 9, 2019
Reviewer: Guillaume from Montreal, QC Canada  
Very happy with my purchase and the overall quality of the transaction considering it was shipped to Canada. It's a nice addition to my setup in terms of time saving but also because it's adding the power I needed to get a strong rolling boil. It's not cheap of course but I think you get what you pay for as it is a robust and well designed stainless steel item. Cheers !

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items